There are several requirements that need to be met in order to acquire a Connecticut State Pistol Permit:
- Applicant must be 21 years or older
- Applicant must be a U.S. Citizen or Legal Resident
- Persons convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors (refer to Special Licensing and Firearms Connecticut State Pistol Permit webpage for more detail) are not eligible.
- Application may be acquired through the applicant’s local police department, town hall, or state police barracks
- CT Pistol Permit cost $70
- Completion of a state approved Handgun Safety Course with Live Fire
- Criminal history background check and submission of fingerprints and photographs in connection with your application.
There may be additional requirements from an applicant’s town or city. Some areas require letters of recommendation as well. The Handgun Safety Course will also have an additional cost as well as the Federal and State background checks. For more information please refer to the Connecticut Special Licensing and Firearms webpage.